Skip to content

Cyclone at Six Flags New England

August 11, 2012

 

I was nervous about riding Cyclone. Some reviews had said that it was possibly the worst roller coaster in the world (You can read the Coaster Critic’s opinion here). However the ride has been through a renovation since then so I was hoping for the best.

Cyclone doesn’t look like much, its paint is chipped and it is only 112 feet tall. As nervous as I was beforehand, I got even more so when I saw pictures in line of related coasters. Six Flags Fiesta Texas’ The Rattler, my lest favorite woody, and The (Old) Texas Giant, another one of my least favorites were two of the listed rides.

Cyclone’s first drop was shortened in 2001 by about 15 feet. You can still see the previous track beneath the existing one in the picture above. The ride is pretty much a figure eight that is traversed three times. There aren’t many large drops on the Cyclone, the largest is actually the third since the first was shortened.

Surprisingly, Cyclone was a fun ride, it wasn’t too bumpy and there was even a bit of airtime on some of the hills. Sure there were bumpy sections throughout the ride, nothing too severe though. I guess the renovation helped a lot.

Cyclone wasn’t anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be. I am giving it a 6 out of 10.

Have you ridden the Cyclone? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

 

 

From → Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    I have exactly the same opinion! I was scared about riding it as well, but when I rode it I liked it and it was fun and not painful at all for me. It is in my top 10 wooden coaster list as well. I like it alot better than the park’s other woodie, thunderbolt. Cyclone was very fun and a nice ride so I guess the renovation worked wonders.

  2. Pianostar permalink

    I love this rollercoaster. So amazing! I love the airtime, it’s possibly the #1 wooden coaster I’ve ever done!! It surprisingly beats the Yankee Cannonball!

Leave a Reply

