Skip to content

Lightning Racer

July 11, 2012

Lightning Racer is a racing/dueling wooden coaster at Hersheypark. There are two tracks, Lightning (Red) and Thunder (Green) that battle each other for the victory.

Unlike almost every other dueling coaster in existence, Lightning Racer’s two trains are still let out of the station at the same time. At the beginning the Lightning train turns to the right and dives under the lift hills. The Thunder train turns to the left. The lift hills are staggered so that both trains reach the top at the same time. The first drop twists to the right. There is a large airtime hill next. There is a jump before the two tracks split. Lightning turns to the lift and Thunder turns to the right. There is another drop before the tracks turn next to each other again.

A small tunnel follows this where the pictures are taken. A few small hills lead to a large fan curve that puts sends the two trains at each other. The next section of Lightning Racer is my favorite. The two tracks zig-zag over and under each other. After this there is one more turn before the finish line. The winner of each ride is different, sometimes it is Lightning and sometimes it is Thunder. The train that arrived first is announced in the station.

Lightning Racer is awesome! The ride is very competitive. Personally I like Lightning better but thunder is good too. It has made its way up to be my third favorite wooden coaster after The Beast and El Toro. I am giving it an 8 out of 10.

Have you ridden Lightning Racer? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

From → Reviews

2 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    I love lightning racer! It was my favorite roller coaster when I was younger and I remember riding it over and over again. It is my second favorite woodie after el toro. I consider lightning racer one ride. I think both thunder and lightning are about the same so therefore I can’t pick a favorite side, however I ride the thunder train more than lightning because A. I like green better than red and B. it usually has a shorter line. This ride is awesome because it is thrilling and has some great interactions between the tracks, it is smooth and a nice long ride. I love it!

  2. Oh take me there!

Leave a Reply

