Skip to content

El Toro at Six Flags Great Adventure

May 24, 2012

El Toro is an Intamin prefabricated wooden coaster. This means that the wood was laser cut in a factory and then assembled into large pieces before being sent to Six Flags. The pieces were put together like Legos at the park. This method of construction makes the ride very smooth. El Toro is the fastest wooden coaster in the world at 70 mph (ok Son of Beast was faster at 78.4 mph but it is closed now). It is considered by many enthusiasts to be the best wooden coaster in the world so my expectations were very high.

The ride is situated in the Plaza Del Carnival section of the park. Instead of bushes around the waiting line like most coasters, El Toro has pepper plants. The station looks pretty authentic, it even has a bullfighter painted on the side (for those who don’t know, El Toro means “the bull” in Spanish). The ride begins with a 180 degree turn to the left. The ride uses a cable lift hill, like Millennium Force, so it is very quiet and fast. At the top there is a straight section of track which allows the riders to notice the 176 foot, 76 degree drop ahead. After another turn the train plummets down to Earth.
The airtime on this drop is some of the strongest that I’ve ever experienced. At the bottom of the drop the train passes under another section of track creating a nice head chopper. A 112 foot airtime hill follows this, the airtime is almost as good as on the first drop. Another 100 foot hill follows this, the longest airtime on the ride is here. At the top of the next hill the track banks to the right and begins the swooping turnaround. This is the only point on the ride where I felt a few small bumps.
There is another airtime hill after this. Hidden underneath the support structure for the first airtime hill is a small bunny hop that provides a bit of floater airtime. A quick turn to the left takes riders to what might just be the absolute best moment of airtime of any coaster in the world. It is a small hill hidden behind Rolling Thunder, another wooden coaster.
Next the ride begins the twister section. We navigate a twisting section of track close to the ground before a row of three bunny hops. The ride uses magnetic brakes to slow the trains down before they proceed to the station.
El Toro has  completely changes my mind about what a wooden coaster can do. After my first ride on it all I could think was “I have to do that again!” It is by far my favorite wooden coaster and, after 8 rides, I decided that it was my second favorite coaster after Millennium Force at Cedar Point. I recommend the back seat for the most insane airtime. I am rating it 10 out of 10.
Have you been on El Toro? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading!
From → Reviews

3 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    Cool you rode toro. It really is the best wooden coaster. It changed my mind about wooden coasters too. After riding this. whenever describing wooden coasters as “rough” I always have to say “except El Toro”. The height, speed, airtime, and smoothness of this ride makes it the best woodie I have ever been on, no doubt. First drop is the most insane on any wooden coaster. This is my 3rd favorite roller coaster, and for good reason. I love it.

    • Yea, near the end of the day I just rode it again and again, it is one of those rides that you like more and more with each ride. The only problem is that I rode Nitro right after El Toro and that made Nitro’s airtime seem less insane, but after riding it a few more times I liked it. It is by far the smoothest woody I have ever been on. Thanks for reading! 🙂

      • Matt P permalink

        Yeah Nitro’s airtime is no where near as insane as toro’s. Nitro’s airtime is floater, nice smooth airtime with that floating in the air feeling rather than being ejected feeling. I like both types of airtime, but floater air is usually smoother I think, while ejector air is a bit rough but definitely more insane and thrilling.

Leave a Reply

