Skip to content

Apollo’s Chariot

May 14, 2012

Apollo’s Chariot is a B&M hyper coaster at Busch Gardens Williamsburg in Virginia. The ride is themed after the Roman god of the sun, Apollo, who rode his chariot across the sky. It opened in 1999 and has been known as one of the best hyper coasters ever since. I was obviously excited about riding it.

Apollo’s trains are quite possibly the most comfortable on the planet. The ride starts up the 210 foot lift hill. At the top there is a small dip before the drop. This allows the train to speed up before falling back to Earth and maximizes airtime. The drop is excellent in front but is spectacular in back, the weight of the entire train pulls the last car over the edge resulting in amazing airtime.

After straight section of track across a river there is a 131 foot airtime hill. At the bottom there is a small tent that the train flies through. The next airtime hill twists to the left at the top. The best airtime on the ride is on the way down. The next element is a strange upward helix that twists around itself before diving back to the ground. A quick jump up to the right leads to the brake run.

The dive off of the brake run is surprisingly insane. We cross over the river again before another hill that flips to the right at the top and to the left at the bottom. Two bunny hops follow this. The second hop has a 50 foot dive into a hidden ravine, this catches many riders off guard and is an excellent way to end the ride.

If you want a smooth ride sit in front, If you want a ride filled with airtime sit in back.

Apollo’s Chariot was an excellent ride, it gives an excellent ride no matter where you sit. I am giving it a 10 out of 10.

Have you been on Apollo’s Chariot? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

From → Reviews

12 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    Good review. I liked apollo, it was a good ride. However, being that I rode Nitro first, apollo had a reputation to prove when I heard people saying it was better than nitro. The scenery is definitely better, but I feel that Nitro has more elements and is a better ride. Also, those straight sections shook me awkwardly. Apollo is a great ride, my 7th favorite in my top 10 list, but I gave it a nine. It may be that the ride should be almost perfect for me to rate it a ten, I don’t know. But to say it is better than Nitro, I think is a bit absurd. By the way, did you ride Nitro?

    • I have not been on Nitro yet, I should be riding it next week sometime so expect a review soon! Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

      • Matt P permalink

        Cool. I highly reccomend sitting in the front seat. It is the best possible seat to be in. The other seats give a “good” ride. The front gives “the best ride ever” ride. In the front you get the full effect of the G-forces and you get alot of airtime. I heard somewhere that they designed Nitro’s front seat to have as much airtime as the back or something. Anyway, definitely give the front a try. I always sit in the front of Nitro, every time I go to six flags. It is like a must do thing.

        • Thanks for the tip, I did like the front seat of Diamondback more than the back. hopefully there won’t be too long of lines so I can ride it multiple times, I’m going this Wednesday (or possibly Thursday). Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

  2. Marcia permalink

    Apollo’s Chariot is tied with Griffon for my #2 spot at the moment.:) I haven’t been on Nitro, so I can’t compare it with Apollo’s Chariot.

    I have only ridden the right outside seat in the 6th row. (I rode it for the first time last Sunday, October 13.)
    My thoughts: The restraints are really comfortable. Although it seems like there’s not much holding you in, it also doesn’t feel like you’re going to fall out, either. (I know that seems contradictory, but anyways…) The reason I mention the ‘eek-I’m-going-to-fall-out’ feeling is ’cause beforehand my dad kept saying how you don’t feel secure, the restraints are loose, blah, blah, blah. Well, I kinda think he just didn’t want to ride with me and was trying to get me to not want to ride ’cause that’s definitely not true. And he also said there wasn’t any airtime…um not! There’s lots and lots or airtime!
    At the top of the lift hill, there’s the predrop and then the main drop. (Hint: Just put your hands up and SCREAM. Best drop I’ve done yet IMO.) I like flying at 70+ mph with just a lap bar; it’s great!
    The last couple hills cause some very funny reactions-people thought the ride was over and weren’t expecting to get some more airtime.;)

    My rating: 10/10 (There’s absolutely nothing wrong with it IMO:))

    • I’m glad someone else shares my love of Apollo. I liked the front row right side. If it’s at all possible, try to make it to Six Flags Great Adventure to ride Nitro and one of my personal favorites, El Toro.

      • Marcia permalink

        Front row, right side? Check! Next time my family goes to BGW, I’ll try to sit there.:)
        Wish me luck!;) I’d LOVE to go there, but I don’t think anyone else in my family is interested. (My dad gets sick; my sis is a scaredy-cat; and my mom is kinda ‘meh’ about most rides.:P) Great Adventure is about 6 hours away from me, so it’s possible though…hopefully in 2014 sometime!:)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Top Ten Coasters « Coasterblog
  2. Bizarro at Six Flags New England « Coasterblog
  3. Coaster Competition: Nitro vs. Apollo’s Chariot vs. Diamondback « Coasterblog
  4. Kingda Ka « Coasterblog
  5. The Best Coasters That I Rode in 2012 « Coasterblog

Leave a Reply

