Skip to content

Theme Park Trips for 2012

February 28, 2012

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, only two posts in the last two weeks.

This summer I’m taking a trip up to the northeast to hit some of the parks there. The only park that I’ve ever visited in this area is Dorney Park in 2006.

Griffon at Busch Gardens Williamsburg

First up is Busch Gardens Williamsburg, I’ve only ever heard good things about this park so I’m very exited about it. I’m also exited about getting to try their new coaster Verbolten, opening this year. Some other highlights in this park are Alpengeist, Apollo’s Chariot, and Griffon.

El Toro and Kingda Ka

Next is Six Flags Great Adventure, The second largest Six flags park after Magic Mountain, and the #1 most attended. It has the tallest coaster in the world, Kingda Ka, at 456 feet. Some other highlights are Nitro, El Toro, Green Lantern, and Bizarro.

The Coney Island Cyclone is next. This historic coaster was one of my 10 most legendary coasters.

After that is Six Flags New England. I’m very exited about getting to ride Bizarro, it has been voted as the #1 steel coaster in the world (beating out my favorite, Millennium force). Some other highlights are Batman: the Dark Knight and Goliath.

Next is Six Flags America. It will be home to Apocalypse, B&M’s first coaster (even though its been moved from Six flags Great America). Some other highlights are Superman: Ride of Steel, Batwing, and Joker’s Jinx.

So at the end of it I will be able to check off Busch Gardens and Six Flags Great Adventure from my list of most wanted parks. Many of my most wanted coasters will be checked off too.

Wow, this year I will be much busier than last year, where my only park was Cedar Point.

What do you think? What parks are you going to? Please comment. Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

From → Features

5 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    Cool. That sounds like an awesome trip! Can’t wait to hear what you think of Nitro, El Toro, Apollo, and Bizarro New England (by the way, the last 2 years Millennium Force beat out bizarro in the golden tickets). I haven’t taken a whole region trip yet. I usually only set to visit one park for a week there and experience all it has to offer. I don’t like to be rushed to ride. Is this going to be one big trip or many small trips? If one big trip, how much time will you spend at each park?

    • Just one day at each park, I’ll be going to them before summer break though so it shouldn’t be too crowded. I wish I could spend more time in each park but I live in Florida so it would be a bit expensive and time consuming to drive or fly up to each park individually for multiple days. If I want to get the most out of my shorter visits to these parks which rides do you think I should hit first and which ones should I save for last? Thanks for reading! 🙂

      • Matt P permalink

        Well, if you are like me, and want to save the best for last, then do just that. But if you do want to get as much as you can out of each park and not run into huge lines, I would suggest: For Great Adventure do El Toro, Kingda Ka, and Superman first. These are the longest lines and fill up quickly. I wouldn’t worry too much about Nitro, because it has a great capacity and hardly ever has a long line and if it does have a long line it does not take long to get through. For Busch Gardens, Griffon and Alpengeist are the biggest waits while apollo is just like Nitro and doesnt have long lines. The Loch Ness Monster does have a long line for an old coaster though, so don’t think it will be a short wait. For New England, hit dark knight and Bizarro first. (when i went, dark knight’s line took almost an hour or two for a short and average coaster!) I havent been to the others though. I hope this helps! I can’t say each will be exactly as I said they will depending on the time of day and time of year.

  2. I was outside my daughter’s school the other day chatting with another parent when the subject of theme parks came up. This family was going to visit Alton Towers, to the obvious excitement of the 7-year son. Mum did not seem so keen. “It’s costing a small fortune “, she groaned, because we have to stay in a hotel overnight. It’s too far to drive there and back in a day”. I asked why they had chosen Alton Towers, since there are other theme parks that are much closer to us in the south of England. “Oh,” came back the reply, “I thought Alton Towers was the only real theme park in England”. It turned out that the trip was basically the idea of the 7-year-old boy, who under pressure not to be left out of the playground hierarchy had pestered them into agreeing to go.

Leave a Reply

