Skip to content

Jaws No More

January 8, 2012

Universal Orlando has closed Jaws, the classic ride based on the movie. The whole Amity area will be used as an expansion to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter which opened at Islands of Adventure in the summer of 2010.

I always liked the Jaws ride although it probably did cost a lot. There were pyrotechnics, giant sharks, and a skipper for each boat. The Skippers were always fun, they would make jokes and then try to shoot the shark with a grenade launcher.

At least we’ll always have the movies to keep us out of the water.

What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

From → Features

9 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    I liked this ride alot. I rode it in 2006 or 2007. It is a shame that they closed it. It is one of the only few rides that actually feel like a real adventure and is very unique. I am not a big fan of harry potter, and I don’t understand why they need to build more harry potter in studios when they have wizarding world in IOA. They don’t need more potter simulators or any more simulators in that matter, they need a good new big roller coaster. A hyper would be nice. Or an Intamin.

    • GuiFolgueira permalink

      Agreed. I think Jaws was a very nice ride too.But i’m a huge fan of Harry Potter, and I really think they could add a hyper coaster (the biggest in Florida) with a nice Harry Potter theme, like they did to the other rides there.

      • Matt P permalink

        I wouldn’t care if they get a hyper with a harry potter theme. I wouldn’t care if they made a hyper with a boring theme. They just need a hyper! And I don’t hate harry potter. I only saw the 6th one: the half blood prince, and it was horrible. But I haven’t seen the others.

        • GuiFolgueira permalink

          Yeah, but for me, an hyper whith a Harry Potter theme would be pefect! Ahh, the books are WAY better than the movies.

          • Matt P permalink

            Oh. Yes I have heard that. However, what would the harry potter theme be? What would be the name? They already have a dragon themed ride and a wizard themed ride.

          • GuiFolgueira permalink

            I think that a Voldemort and some death eaters theme would be nice, maybe they could do same pyrothecnics and audio… i still haven’t got a name for it… but, actually, they will probably build a dark coaster with a gringotts (harry potter’s bank) theme.

  2. I saw one website saying that they should change the name of the resort to Harry Potter and the Universal of Orlando. I’m not a huge fan of Harry Potter either but if you think about it financially it is probably a good decision.

  3. rtggamer permalink

    That is just too bad, I really liked this ride. It seems to me that the Harry Potter theme is taking over the park, like the islands of adventure part of Universal. In my opinion, it makes the park less fun because they are taking out all of the different themes that Universal had, and turning it into one. I do see though, why it would be a better financial move to take it out. It cost a lot to run, but that is what made it so fun.

    • MichelleG12 permalink

      I have to agree. I also think most of the rides, are made to ride out after awhile. HP may be good financially speaking now, but what about 5-10 years from now? When people get tired of it, they will have a huge chunk of their park to get rid of, not just one ride or a small section, costing them more in the long run. I’m a HP fan, but if they do decide to expand it, I’ll probably be less likely to visit. I’m not even a fan of The Expendables or Transformers but I would rather see something like that take Jaws place than HP.

Leave a Reply

