Skip to content

Georgia Cyclone

December 10, 2011

First of all I would like to apologize for the lack of posts recently, life has been busy and there hasn’t been too much news either.

Almost everyone has heard of the Coney Island Cyclone in New York, in fact it is so famous that there have been many coasters at other parks that imitate its layout.

So the ride leaves the station, turns to the left and up the lift hill. The first drop turns to the left slightly and throws you against the side of the car. The bottom of the first drop slams you into your seat again. The first turn at the top of the next hill isn’t banked enough so it throws you to the side again. I spent the rest of the ride hanging on for dear life while being slammed in all directions. The few airtime hills that the ride does have crushed my legs due to the painful lap bars. The brake run slammed us to a stop and then we waited for what seemed like forever to unload. This ride hasn’t aged well unlike some.

I suppose it would feel like that in the middle of a cyclone so the ride lives up to its name. Unfortunately it also lives up to its reputation as a rough coaster. I am giving it a 2 out of 10.

It has been announced that the Georgia Cyclone will be receiving new topper track for the 2012 season so it will not be as rough.

Have you been on Georgia Cyclone? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

 

From → Reviews

5 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    I will be riding this in 2012 for the first time on my trip to SFOG. I’ll let you know if it is rough or not. Of course, it will be my first time on it so I won’t know how rough it was and won’t be able to make a comparison. But i’ll let you know if it is rough or not for the way it is. By the way, nice snow flakes. 🙂

    • I’d like to know how it is since I haven’t ridden it since the summer of 2009.I thought I would get the blog into the holiday spirit so I put the snowflakes in (thanks WordPress). Enjoy them while they last, they end on January 4th.

      • Matt P permalink

        I forgot that it was getting retracked. Anyway, it was very rough still! Now my least favorite coaster (I gave it a 1/10) it whacked my head around on every part of the ride and hurt my neck very badly. It slammed my head into the back of the seat, and when I removed my head from the seat it threw it forward very harshly. The one good thing I can say about it is that the turns weren’t very rough. In fact strangely, the hills were the roughest part of the ride. It was still horrible and my least favorite coaster I have ever been on. I would take an arrow or vekoma looper any day over the Georgia Cyclone.

        • I haven’t been on it in a few years, it was bad then and it seems to be getting worse! Maybe if they gave it a Rocky Mountain treatment or better seats it would be more comfortable.

  2. Raymond permalink

    I know woodies are supposed to be rough and out of control but the Georgia Cyclone is purposefully made to be grating. It’s the only roller coaster I will never get on again. I’m surprised there aren’t more lawsuits.

Leave a Reply

