Skip to content

Coaster Competition: Poltergeist vs. Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster

September 28, 2011

Coaster Competitions are pretty much the same as the Coaster Critic’s Coaster Showdowns (I get a lot of ideas from his site). I will compare and contrast two coasters that are alike in one way or another. Poltergeist and Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster are both launched coasters whose layouts look like balls of track. Poltergeist is at Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster is an indoor ride at Disney’s Hollywood Studios in Walt Disney World.

vs.

Theming:

Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster is at a Disney park so you know it will have world class theming. The line for it looks like a recording studio and it even has a storyline to go along with it. The station looks like an alleyway (fire escapes included!). Poltergeist has a nice station with cobwebs and old pictures on the walls, however it doesn’t hold a candle to Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster’s theming. The clear winner here is Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster.

Launch:

I have left out the normal setting category because both coasters are on flat ground. Instead I have put in the launch category since it is the main part of both rides. Poltergeist’s launch is very sudden and scary because you do not know when it is coming. This can be fun or painful if you are not facing forwards when they launch you. Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster’s launch has a countdown and doesn’t seem as sudden. Surprisingly I like Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster’s launch more.

Layout:

I’m not exactly sure what Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster’s layout is since it is indoors, however I do know that the inversions are a Rollover and a Corkscrew. Poltergeist’s layout is still hard to figure out yet I have done it. The inversions are a Cobra Roll, Sidewinder, and a Corkscrew. The rest of it is pretty much helixes down to the bottom. I think I like Poltergeist’s layout more because of the extra inversion.

So the winner is Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster! Even though Poltergeist’s layout was better.

You can read my Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster review here

You can read my Poltergeist review here

What do you think? Should Poltergeist have won? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

 

Coaster Competition: Poltergeist vs. Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster

From → Features

4 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    I have ridden rock n roller coaster, but not poltergeist. Rock n roller coaster I dont remember that well, since it was indoors and in the dark. I do remember it was a fun and cool ride. Poltergeist looks good as well.

  2. Congratulations!!! this is the 100th comment on my site (an excellent milestone), although yours was “only” 99th it prompted me to write this one. Thanks for your 18 comments! 🙂

  3. rtggamer permalink

    whoa…. 100! Congrats!!!!!!!!! (of course this one is 101)

Leave a Reply

