Skip to content

Coaster Competition: Kraken Vs. Superman Krypton

September 20, 2011

Coaster Competitions are pretty much the same as the Coaster Critic’s Coaster Showdowns (I get a lot of ideas from his site). I will compare and contrast two coasters that are alike in one way or another. Today’s Coaster Competition is between two unique floorless coasters, Kraken at Sea World Orlando and Superman Krypton at Six Flags Fiesta Texas.

vs.

Theming:

Superman’s track is Yellow, Blue, and Red, the same colors as Superman, however other than that there is no indication of the superhero. Kraken however has a large sea monster outside of the entrance and a cavern at the exit. I am giving the win here to Kraken.

Setting:

Kraken’s setting by a lake is nice but other than that there isn’t much to it. Superman Krypton travels up and down the side of a cliff twice, it also has a Cobra Roll over a pond. I am giving the win to Superman Krypton.

Layout:

Superman is the taller of the two and has six inversions, the world’s largest Vertical Loop, Zero-G-Roll, Cobra Roll, and Interlocking Corkscrews. It also has a helix on top of the aforementioned cliff. Kraken is longer and has seven inversions a Vertical loop, Dive loop, Zero-G-Roll, Cobra Roll, Vertical loop inside of a trench, and a Corkscrew. Kraken also has a surprise tunnel at the end. Believe it or not I am giving the win to Kraken (just barely).

So overall the winner is Kraken! They are both really good coasters and I would recommend that any coaster enthusiast try them out.

You can read my Superman Krypton review here.

You can read my Kraken review here.

What do you think? Should Superman have won the competition? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

From → Features

2 Comments
  1. Matt P permalink

    Cool good job. I was looking for more coaster competitions like Coaster Critic’s Coaster Showdowns. I have ridden Kraken, but not Superman Krypton Coaster. I think Kraken seems better than Superman as well.

    • Thanks! Like I said, they are both very good coasters. When I started writing the post I had no idea who would win, I just put what I thought was best for the categories that I chose and Kraken emerged as the winner. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

