Skip to content

Maverick

August 25, 2011

I went on Maverick last year and wasn’t that impressed with it I probably would have given it a 6 out of 10, however I have read a lot of reviews that say it is an amazing ride. I promised myself that I wouldn’t write a review of it until I went on it again, and now I have. Do I agree with all of the reviews or do I still dislike Maverick? Read the review to find out!

Maverick is an Intamin Blitz coaster at Cedar Point, It was the first ride of its kind and was advertised as a family ride, this could not be further from the truth though, it is possibly more intense than Top Thrill Dragster (a 420 foot tall, 120 mph coaster).

Maverick begins with a quick ascent to of its 105 foot lift hill. There are linear synchronous motors (LSMs) that take you to the top in about 7 seconds, I guess you could call it a launch. The first drop is at a 95 degree angle, that’s past straight down! The airtime on this drop is awesome. There is a quick turn to the right before a turn to the left inside a canyon, then back to the right again. There is an airtime hill that follows this.  The airtime here is the best in the park, if you didn’t have a shoulder harness and lap bar you would be thrown all the way across lake Erie and onto Canada. A turn to the right before the Twisted Horseshoe Roll. This is pretty much two Corkscrews with a turn between them, the first picture is one of these inversions. Around another turn and into the tunnel. This is made to trick riders into thinking that the ride is over by slowing them down to 5 mph and then launching the trains to 70 mph. After the launch (which uses LSMs by the way) the trains make a very fast turn to the left, there are quite a few tuns on this coaster. Up an incline to another airtime moment and then a downwards turn to the right. At this point water cannons go off in the pond next to you. Through a canyon where the heartline roll was supposed to be, they took out it because it was putting too much force on the trains. Instead there is a straight piece of track. After another turn to the left the riders are flung through a 92 degree overbanked turn before a turn to the right. Then another more intense overbanked turn, and airtime hill before we are brought onto the final brakes (there are no more surprise launches).

https://i2.wp.com/cp.media.cfnslb1.cedarfair.com/_upload/galleries/maverick_photo_gallery/maverick_01.jpg

Maverick is one wild ride, the transitions between turns are very fast and intense. Check out the video below to see what I mean.

So what do I think? I would give Maverick a 9 out of 10 in most seats, however I got to ride in the front seat one and that was definitely a 10 out of 10. It still wasn’t quite as good as Millennium Force but a close second at Cedar Point, 5th overall. Thanks to cedarpoint.com for the third picture.

or

Have you been on Maverick? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading! 🙂

From → Reviews

4 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Maverick is great. I was so surprised when I rode it at how fun and thrilling it was! I give this a 10 out of 10, and is also my 2nd favorite ride at CP next to millennium, and my 4th overall.

  2. Matt P permalink

    Maverick is awesome. It is so great. The ride impressed me alot, especially since it had so small of a hill.(I like hypers alot) It has a great launch up the hill, a steep 95 degree drop, airtime, 2 corkscrews(horseshoe roll), a 70 mph launch through a tunnel, many turns and some 90+ degrees, a good environment, and was smooth. It is an awesome ride, and my 4th favorite coaster.

  3. This is the most intense ride in the park with great inversions and an amazing airtime hill.

  4. I think that Maverick is really fun. It’s my 3rd favorite

Leave a Reply

