Skip to content

Boomerang Coasters at Various Parks

May 11, 2011

Boomerang Coasters are quite possibly the most popular coaster models in the world (there are 45 different ones). The first Boomerang to be built was built at a park in Mexico in 1982, although it wasn’t operated until 1984. By that time another one was already opened (this one is pictured below).

The ride starts with a slow lift backwards out of the station. Once the train reaches the top of the hill it is released and we drop forward back through the station. A cobra roll follows this and then a loop. We are then lifted to the same height as before on another lift. Then we are dropped through the entire course again backwards. This part is usually bumpy. We arrive back in the station moving backwards.

It seems like every major theme park chain has a Boomerang coaster. They are fun but rough (some parks are adding special trains so that they won’t be). I am giving all of the ones that I have ridden a 4 out of 10.

Have you been on a Boomerang coaster? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

From → Reviews

5 Comments
  1. I’ve been on the one in Worlds of Fun. It tends to cause lots of headbanging. I’ve heard carowind’s doesn’t headbang.

    • I’ve heard that about the Carolina Cobra, I think its because they put different restraints on it.

  2. Matt P permalink

    Yeah boomerangs are very common. I don’t like them. I am more of a complete curcuit coaster lover, i think boomerangs/shuttles/impulses are kind of a sorry excuse for a coaster. Boomerangs are usually very rough. However, sidewinder at hershey got new trains on it and it is awesome now! There is no headbanging at all! I enjoy it alot more, and without the headbanging I saw how fun the ride really is. Without the new trains, I’d give sidewinder a 3 or 4 out of 10. I would give sidewinder with the new trains a 5 or 6 out of 10.

    • I’ve heard that the Boomerangs at Carowinds and Hershypark are smoother than most. I haven’t been on either of them. Would you count Expedition Everest as a shuttle coaster? It has the section in the iddle where you ride backwards through the mountain on a different track than you started at.

      • Matt P permalink

        I didnt really think about everest. I guess that would be sort of a shttle coaster, but looks like a good coaster. The shuttle coasters I dont like are some boomerangs and impulses. It is the shortness that I dont like. Impulses feel like a dragon swing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

