Skip to content

Viper at Six Flags Magic Mountain

February 7, 2011

The giant red and white coaster in the back of Six Flags Magic Mountain is Viper. For years it was the tallest looping coaster in the world at 188 feet. This is one of the Arrow coasters that has actually aged relatively well, it isn’t too violent.

The ride starts with a long lift to the top where you can see for miles around, not that you have much time to do that before dropping down the 170 foot drop. There is a small loop at the top of the next hill, this is one of the creepiest parts of the ride because you see this tiny inversion while still moving at 70 miles per hour. After this loop we turn and take out two more loops before the trim-brakes. instead of dropping out of the brakes we make a turn and roll into the bat-wing. This is much smoother than King’s Island’s Vortex bat-wing. After that you make a turn toward the station and flip through two corkscrews before the final brakes.

I enjoyed Viper, it wasn’t the smoothest coaster in the world, but it certainly wasn’t the roughest. I am giving it a 7 out of 10.

From → Reviews

7 Comments
  1. as I website owner I conceive the content material here is very good , regards for your efforts.

  2. I really prize your piece of work, Great post.

  3. would love to forever get updated great web site! .

  4. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were very useful extremely helpful

  5. Thanks for another informative web site. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such a perfect way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  6. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include almost all important infos. I’d like to see more posts like this .

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Coaster Competition: Viper vs. Vortex « Coasterblog

Leave a Reply

