Skip to content

Goliath at Six Flags Over Georgia

February 7, 2011

Just by the name you know that this is something big, but not just big it will be huge. Actually Goliath at Six Flags Over Georgia is not too tall compared to other Goliath coasters at other parks, only 200 feet, however what it lacks in height, it makes up in airtime. From afar you can see the orange hills in the sky, and maybe a train riding over them. If you missed it before you will certainly get to see it in the parking lot, because Goliath extends outside of the park boundaries and over a road!

The futuristic station in the American section of the park, and that’s where you want to go. The lift is fast and the first drop makes you wonder if you really want to put your hands up. The second hill is an airtime lover’s dream come true, and so it the third. The fourth hill is the one pictured above, it has a wicked helix downward, you fly up to the top where their is a small bop of airtime, and then the spiral begins, you start spinning round and round, the Gs are pressing down relentlessly. Just as you can’t take it anymore the helix ends and the bunny hops begin, there is even an over-banked turn in there! The ride finishes with the most forceful airtime on the coaster during the hops, the coaster was over all too soon, but you can always hop in line and ride again.

I thoroughly enjoyed Goliath, I couldn’t find anything wrong with it so I gave it a 10 out of 10.

Have you been on Goliath? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. 🙂

From → Reviews

8 Comments
  1. Wish I would have ridden this when I had the chance!

  2. Matt P permalink

    Can’t wait to ride this! I am going to SFOG next year(2012). I love B&M hypers, and this one looks very good.

    • I loved Goliath, it was easily the best coaster at SFOG, maybe in the whole southeast too. My advice would be to sit in/near the front, for some reason the B&M Mega Coasters are not quite as good in back.

      • Matt P permalink

        That is so true about the seating. For some reason, Nitro at SFGAdv is so much better in the front than anywhere else. I guess its the same with all B&M hypers.

  3. Matt P permalink

    Got back from SFOG and yes I made Goliath my 100th roller coaster! I sat in the front for my first time on it, and the back for my 2nd time. Now for my thoughts on it: In the front it was a forceful and fun ride, but for some reason it didn’t give me much airtime or as much as I thought it would give. Also, it was a bit shaky on the drops from the 2nd and 3rd hill. It was rough by no means, but compared to Nitro and Apollo it was kind of shaky to me. It didn’t have as much airtime as Nitro in the front, and I must say I like Nitro better. In the back of Goliath I got insane airtime over the first hill and over other hills. Also, I experienced something I never had before on a coaster. After the large downward helix which totally beats out Nitro’s upward helix, something strange happened. For just two seconds, all I could see was dark blue. After those two seconds the surroundings returned and I was fine. Not sure what it was, but it was strange. Also when sitting in the back on the final turn into the station, someone’s cell phone from one of the front rows came flying back and almost hit me in the head! Thankfully it didn’t and fell somewhere off the ride. Overall I feel Goliath was a good ride and was very fun and had good airtime in the back, but in the front it didn’t deliver as much airtime as Nitro or Apollo for me. So I would say that I like Nitro and Apollo better. Goliath is still in my top 10 though. It is number 7 directly after apollo.

  4. I think you might have blacked out after the helix. My mom blacked out on Nitro’s and she described the same experience as you did. It isn’t harmful so I think you’re probably OK.

  5. Matt P permalink

    Really? Blacked out? Hmm. I don’t know. I saw blue not black (does it matter?) and it only lasted 2 seconds barely. Then again, Coaster Critic described blacking out on the other Goliath at Magic Mountain and said it lasted a split second. But he said everything went dark. I guess it is possible. I never thought I would black out on a coaster. Then again, it was the last ride of a 106 degree day and I rode it in the back where it was very intense and thrilling. That may have had to do with it a bit.

Leave a Reply

