Skip to content

The Voyage at Holiday World Review

June 8, 2013

OK, for those who don’t know, it’s been a little over three months since I’ve posted anything. I didn’t mean for the break to last that long but a trip to the Florida Keys and a vacation through the Midwest have taken up a lot of time. Anyway, I’m back!

On my trip through the Midwest, I’ve visited numerous theme parks. One of these was Holiday World and Splashin’ Safari in Santa Claus, Indiana. It’s one of the few places that is loved by everyone, I’ve never read a bad review of the park or its biggest coaster, The Voyage. The Voyage is a 1.2 mile ride through the forest in back of Holiday World.

I was very curious to see how the ride would compare to the other wooden coasters that I’ve ridden, especially El Toro, my favorite. The Voyage is actually a lot like The Beast; they are both in the back of their park, they both ride off into the woods, and they are both really, really long.

The ride begins with a one hundred sixty-three foot lift. At the top, all riders can see are the next two hills before the track ventures out of sight. The first drop didn’t seem a whole lot steeper than other wood drops but it was still fun and had some decent floater airtime in back. After the initial plunge, there were two hills that also had some good long airtime. A tunnel was located at the bottom of the second airtime hill.

After emerging from the tunnel, there is a small hill that provides the first moment of ejector air before diving into another tunnel. The second tunnel doesn’t last long before yet another airtime hill is ridden. This is where it gets interesting. The train travels through a third tunnel before entering the spaghetti bowl turnaround. There are several hidden moments of airtime in this turnaround along with two of the infamous ninety degree turns.

A dive into another tunnel leads to the mid-course brake run. Because these brakes slow the train down so much, everyone thinks that the second half won’t match the intensity of the first. The Voyage is just getting started. When the brakes have done their job, the train dives under the ground yet again for one of the best moments of the ride, the insane triple down in the dark. As most riders aren’t expecting multiple drops underground, the screams on the second moment of falling are generally pretty loud. The third part of the triple down is where the insane airtime is. It’s much steeper than I first expected and provides great airtime in back.

After the triple down, there are a series of hidden hills, wave turns, tunnels, and one more ninety degree turn to make the trip back to the station even more insane than the ride out. As the train rolls back into the station, riders exit exhausted. It’s one of the strange things about The Voyage; it really is exhausting.

In addition to being similar to The Beast, The voyage is also similar to Maverick in that it beats you up on purpose. I rode it fourteen times in one day and I prefer the second to last row because it tends not to beat me up too much yet it still has the great airtime. At first I wasn’t sure what to rate it because it is so intense. After a few rides though, I knew that it was a ten out of ten. I guess any ride that can be addicting enough to ride fourteen times in one day deserves that honor.

10v2

Overall, it doesn’t have El Toro’s ejector airtime, however, it does have a bit more floater airtime. I wouldn’t say it is quite my favorite wooden coaster, however it comes in at a close second. After riding the coaster, I watched the POV and counted the number of airtime moments on the ride. The final number was twenty-four. Here’s the POV:

During my trip I discovered that I really like Holiday World, it has become my favorite small park. It is very clean, the staff is excellent, and they have three great coasters. I also really enjoyed the free soft drinks.

Also, The Voyage has a record-breaking twenty-four seconds of airtime which means that I was weightless for over five and a half minutes during the day on that coaster.

Have you ridden The Voyage? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading! :-)

From → Reviews

4 Comments
  1. Mariano Scotti permalink

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR MAIL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Thanks so much for the great review – we’re so glad you enjoyed your visit (and Voyage!).

    • You’re very welcome. It’s a great park and an excellent coaster.
      Thanks for commenting! :-)

  3. bob permalink

    Beautiful review! Glad you had a great trip! I really want to try and get out to Holiday World as soon as possible as I have never been there before.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

