Skip to content

My Single Favorite Ride on a Coaster this Year

December 21, 2012

A few weeks ago The Coaster Critic, Dillon from Theme Park Rides, and I decided to all post articles on the single most memorable ride of 2012. Check out the links at the bottom of this post to check out their favorites!

Most years this would be a difficult topic to write about but for 2012 I know exactly what my answer will be. My single favorite ride on a coaster this year was my very first ride on El Toro at Six Flags Great Adventure. The hype for this ride was huge. Everyone seemed to agree on two things, it was very smooth, and it had possibly the best airtime of any coaster.

http://www.themeparkreview.com/forum/files/eltoro03.jpg

The first ride that I took on El Toro was in the very back seat on the left side. At the first drop, the train dives towards the ground at an insane seventy-six degrees. When this happens, the back seat gets pulled down by the rest of the train. I can say without a doubt, that is one of the most intense first drops ever (it’s even better if you hold your hands up!)

The airtime on the ride was not exaggerated at all. This ride literally feels like it wants to throw you out of the park on every hill. I was speechless when my train finally reached the bake run. You know a ride is special when that happens.

Here’s a video (The POV starts at 1:13):

Check out what other people’s favorites were!

Best Single Ride Experience of 2012

Theme Park Rides’ Favorite Ride of the Year

The Coaster Critic’s Favorite Ride of the Year

The Coaster Guy’s Favorite Ride of the Year

Coaster101′s Favorite Ride of the Year

What do you think? What was your single favorite ride this year? Please comment. Thanks for reading! :-)

From → Features

4 Comments
  1. I’m glad that you got to ride El Toro this year. And I’m happy to hear that it’s still delivering awesome rides. That thing is an airtime monster! It’s my top woodie even though it doesn’t really incorporate terrain like most of my favorites do.

    • I was very nervous about riding because there was so much hype that it seemed impossible that it would be that good. It was everything I had hoped for and more.
      Thanks for commenting! :-)

  2. I finally got to experience El Toro for the first time last year and I absolutely loved it! Definitely one of the top wooden coasters in the world and I can’t wait to get back there and ride it again.

  3. Matt P permalink

    El Toro would be my pick as well since I got to ride it during Riding of the Bull Cuatro (an ACE event) after the park closed in pitch black darkness 17 times in a row. Also, it was pouring and call me crazy, but the rain added to the ride experience. We also “rode the bull” on one of the rides (with one hand we grabbed the handlebar, with the other we motioned in circles around our heads like we were matadors ore something :)) That was definitely the most memorable ride experience of the year for me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

