Skip to content

Rattler at Six Flags Fiesta Texas

April 17, 2011

Rattler is an enormous wooden roller coaster at Six Flags Fiesta Texas.

Six Flags Fiesta Texas is built in a quarry. The ride starts with a 180 foot lift up to the top of the cliffs at the edge of the park. There is then a huge drop down to the base of the park where we are bunped around a lot. Then back up to the top again. The next another drop turns us around to the large incline that is ahead of us. The next element is the most sickening, it is a triple helix. The train dives off of the edge of the quarry into a tunnel that is drilled into solid rock. There are a few turns that follow this that lead to the final brakes.

Rattler was very rough but had one fun part (the tunnel). I am giving it a 2 out of 10.

Have you been on Rattler? What do you think? Please comment. Thanks for reading. :-)

From → Reviews

8 Comments
  1. Hated this coaster! The roughest I’ve ever been on, in fact while riding it, I think I said it should not be allowed to run it could give someone whiplash. Appropriately named. I think I would give it a 1.

  2. A lot of folks have said The Rattler is a rough ride and I believe’em cause I’ve been on it well over a 100 times. As a former employee of the park. The talk (at the time) was chancing the track out and replacing it with the tracks like “The Texas Giant”. We’ll see!

    P.S. Actually I wish they could and would put the coaster back to it’s first and best design if they do modify the track. Then Coaster Buffs would have the Wooden Coaster ride of their lives!!!

    • I never got to ride it in its original form although I have heard from many who did that it was the better version of the ride. Thanks for commenting! :-)

  3. Take a good look at ‘The Rattler’ now! I want to say, but not sure about the source of the information I just received last night. I will do a follow up and if I have entered this message in error I apologize now.and let you know. The word I got was this winter it will go under some kind of re-work. I am hoping it is the ” chancing the track out and replacing it with the tracks like “The Texas Giant” as I have mentioned before.

  4. Bringing up an older topic about “THE RATTLER”. Take a look on You Tube. Search: “Fiesta Texas opening year”. There you can see The Rattler back in it’s original design. The first drop is deeper and the second hill in the curve is more steeper. One more interest is at 2:50 into the video. Notice the sway of the track and supports. The way it was explained to me was the track needs to flex to absorb the pressure of motion. Also the train here is it’s original.

  5. ” THE IRON RATTLER ” ???

    Yes It Is Confirmed!!!!!

    “The Rattler” at Six Flags Fiesta Texas in San Antonio, Texas will be going through a major track change this winter (2012 – 2013). The current bumpy weather suffering old track will be replace with Steel Track. The new track will be the same as the track on “The Texas Giant” . They also plan to rename the coaster from “The Rattler” to “THE IRON RATTLER”. It is scheduled to re-open in the Spring (2013). As far as rerouting the path of the coaster is yet to be determined.
    Referencing my previous entry; will they be able to engineer this new track to keep the sway that gives this coaster it’s life like snake feature? I also wonder if the new solid steel track being a smoother ride will increase the speed?
    Those Who That Disliked This Monster; Lets Get Ready And See What Happens!

  6. Yes coasterguy you are THE MAN!!!!!! Thanks video is awesome. As far as rerouting the path of the coaster is yet to be determined. HHHHMMMM! Determined! Our local news reported also!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

